Skip to content

John 2:1-5

April 30, 2013

And on the third day there was a wedding in Cana of Galilee, and Jesus’ mother was there; 2 and the Jesus and his students were called out into the wedding. 3 And, after running out of wine, Jesus’ mother says to him, “We have no wine.” 4 And Jesus says to her, “What [does this have to do] with you and me, woman?” My hour has not yet come. 5 His mother said to the servants, “Whatever thing he might say, do [it].” And there were six stone jars according to the cleansing of the Jews lying there.

Let’s look at verse 4. It literally says “what/why to me and to you woman?” or “what for me and for you” or “what with me and with you?”. These all have to do with the use of a dative  and a lack of a verb. NIV “Why do you involve me?” ESV “What does this have to do with me?” NASB “What does that have to do with us?”

I think he’s saying that neither one of them are in charge of the wedding.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

