Skip to content

John 1:32-34 (holy)

March 7, 2013

32 And John testified while saying, “I have seen for myself the spirit coming down as [a] dove out of heaven and it stayed on him. 33 And I did not know him, but that one who sent me to immerse in water said to me, “On whoever you might see the spirit coming down and staying on him, this [one] is the one immersing in [the] special spirit.” 34 And I have seen and have testified that this [one] is the son of the God.

Note that “heaven” and “sky” is the same word, and that I inserted a “the” for the Holy Spirit, because it seems clear to me that there is only one of those. If it was [a] holy spirit, I would have no idea what that would mean.

Edit: Changed holy to special… as that is the more basic meaning. I was also thinking that this phrase points to a specific spirit, and so inserting [the] seems appropriate.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

